What Is The Best Clock Movement To Learn Clock Repair On?

• Tim
  • Tim's Avatar Topic Author
More
#3723 by Tim
Tim created the topic: What Is The Best Clock Movement To Learn Clock Repair On?
What Is The Best Clock Movement To Learn Clock Repair On?

As far as American 8 days I think it would be hard to beat a Seth Thomas Type 89 movement, they are simple and practically indestructable. Hermle clock movements would be another contender. What do you think?
  • Andy
More
#3732 by Andy
Andy replied the topic: What Is The Best Clock Movement To Learn Clock Repair On?
Sorry Tim, I can not answer that query, though I'm hugely interested. My first post here, I am new to this hobby. I've collected clocks for years and it never occurred to me to learn repair. A friend and neighbor recently passed away and he was into pocket watch repair. I am negotiating with his widow for a K & D inverto staking tool kit #17. It looks mostly complete... a few empty holes. Any guess as to what a fair price would be? Over all appears to be in good condition, not a rusty POS like I've seen on Ebay.
Also, looking for a source for a reasonably priced let down tool, $50.00 seems a bit steep for a four way square drive screw driver! I spent 45 years as a mechanic and know what quality tools cost... Snap-on!
Any advice is welcome and greatly appreciated.
Andy
  • Anonymous
#3733 by Anonymous
Anonymous replied the topic: What Is The Best Clock Movement To Learn Clock Repair On?
Hey Andy!

I love doing repair and collecting. It is a great feeling bringing an old clock back to life knowing that it was someones pride and joy and all the history it has been through. I love doing the repair too, its not that hard and you can become quite skilled at it. Here is a